A thought on death and dying.

Crow

Today my father would have turned 85 and, although I don’t celebrate birthdays, I would have called him (as I did everyday) to simply to remind him how special he was to me.  But he’s gone now; resting until that faithful day. Given this, I called his 90 year old childhood friend and offered some support. He expressed gratitude.

Today, I also got word from an old friend that someone from my distant past died a few months ago.  There was a time in my life when this man was a significant figure, but just like in the movies…time and circumstance played its part. 

When I first heard the news I struggled with whether to wish his family…wife and adult children (one of whom was my ex-husband) my heartfelt condolences; however, I later came to the realization that some things are better left unsaid. 

So, what brings me to write this entry? I write because I wish to say something about death and dying.  After all, I selfishly admit, the news led me to think about my family and my own fragile mortality. 

A German proverb says “Death keeps no calendar.” That being said, death can call upon us at any time. The mere thought of having no control over when one will die can be crippling for some, but perhaps liberating for others.  See….to free oneself from death many mental health professionals advise you  to say, “Ok, death, I see you. I’m ready for you. Now I’m going to go live for today.” Live FULLY for today.  Easier said than done right? After all, for many life seems be just like the “Groundhog Day” film….trapped in the same, predictable routine day in, day out. 

Perhaps that why occasions such as the loss of a loved one are so significant. They’re  reminders that everyday is a precious gift from God and that we should treat it as such. And although I have the hope of everlasting life in a paradise here on earth, that doesn’t mean I’m not going to live my life in the present and cherish every moment (no matter how dysfunctional and backwards this life may be). 

One of my favorite writers Marianne Williamson once wrote  …”The present moment, if you think about it, is the only time there is. No matter what time it is, it is always now.[…]Living fully in the moment is key to both personal and spiritual liberation.”

So, live your life fully for it’s an integral part of our worship to Jah; one doesn’t know what the next minute brings. 

🦋

5 Replies to “A thought on death and dying.”

Leave a comment